It’s so strange for me to say this, but as much as I love TV and movies, etc. I find that even shows that I know are awesome and good, I often find way too much work to get into. For example, I currently have a backlog of Angel the Series on my DVR. (I know, like, late to the party much?) And as much as I find the series hilarious, sometimes, it is quite a burden to have to watch a slew of twelve episodes in order to make room for other recordings on my DVR. Yes, yes, cry for me. Weep copious tears.

Anyhow, my husband and I watched about two seasons of the remixed Battlestar Galactica but then got lazy. I own Season 1 of Lost and Seasons 1 and 2 of Nip Tuck but other than a few episodes, I’ve never watched them. I’ve never seen The Sopranos or a bunch of critically acclaimed shows. I want to. But let’s face it, sometimes, that huge backlog of DVDs and seasons to watch is just really overwhelming. And unless it’s on syndication on TV, it’s probably not going to happen – even if I own the DVDs. For some reason, it’s much easier to watch off my DVR than to figure out how my DVD player/XBOX works.

I am seriously lame.

Here’s the other thing. I feel GUILTY about not watching these shows. Like I’ve somehow neglected my all-American duty to consume pop culture? And it’s not that I don’t want to watch these shows. It’s just that it takes too much time.

You see, with TV or things that require watching, no matter how fast a viewer I am, I can only watch it in real-time segments. What I mean is, a 42 minute standard hour-long episode really will always take 42 minutes to watch. But if I read a book, I read about 80-90 pages an hour. I can consume books at a faster rate and pace than others. So, I don’t mind spending my free time reading because I can cram so much more under the “Read” pile than the “Watched” pile. It’s a stupid motivator but there it is.

Sometimes, TV just feels too much like homework and I don’t want to do it.

