I used to get so annoyed at my dad when he’d say to me, “A stitch in time saves nine.” First off, I had no idea what it meant. For some reason, the concept of sewing shut a small hole so that later it wouldn’t rip even larger – I totally didn’t get it. Perhaps because I thought it was literally about time (instead of about the hole). Hey, if they wanted to emphasize the hole, they should’ve mentioned it. Oh, and I was a bit obtuse.

Anyhow, the older I’ve gotten, the more it makes sense to me. However, that does not mean I do any more things on time, so to speak. Case in point: now that we have our own home, you’d think I’d be far more protective of it than I am. I am a bit too cavalier considering how expensive this sucker is. But no, sometimes, juice or food stains on the carpet go uncleaned and then forgotten about and then months later, there is a dark spot (of mold, no doubt) growing on my carpet. Or how about that time when I noticed a wet spot leaking from my ceiling onto a red blanket of mine on the floor but I didn’t think anything of it, and when I finally did something about it a day later, my carpet was stained a rusty nasty color?

Hmmm… I seem to have a thing about carpets. Well, perhaps because it’s such a pain in the butt to clean carpets (yes, even spot treatments). However, it is even MORE of a pain to clean set in stains! And far more expensive!! Let that be a lesson to me!

Hopefully, I will try to be more diligent about these types of situations. After all, it doesn’t only apply to home maintenance. It is all about planning ahead and cost-limiting and all sorts of grown up stuff. Delaying gratification and whatnot.

Sometimes, it sucks to be the grownup in the room.

