So, I’ve been noticing lately that a lot of the kids’ books and stories and toys (eg: the Melissa and Doug train set) don’t really have people of color featured in them. Now, granted, with the train set example, I don’t know any people that shade of white, either, but I think we all take for granted that’s who they’re representing. What, there are no conductors who are Asian? Black? Indian? For that matter, how come there are no peaches and beiges and tans?

The stories have blond kids or brunette kids, but no multi-racial (ah, who am I kidding? That’s a tall order!) and kids of color are rare. I have to go out of my way to find books that feature kids that look like my kid. That’s super annoying. And requires effort. Everyone knows I hate effort! BOOO.

Of course, this is no surprise to me. I do read enough race-related blogs to know that this is a common enough problem. Not just for people of color, but for Caucasian parents who want to expose their kids to other ethnic groups (either in stories or in real life). Clearly, this is an under-represented market. (And I will now have to start scouring Amazon for these books. Boo.)

The thing is, I don’t just want books that feature people of color (because let’s face it: most of these will be “foreign” as in, “Oh! How different! Chinese New Year!” vs. this is a regular story but the protagonist is a child of color). I want REAL books with people of color. Not token ones or very special episodes!

Too bad I can’t draw. I guess this is why I stick to books on animals. DS just LOVES cats!

