Why not talk about MILs? My MIL is coming to visit this weekend and I’m not really looking forward to it. I know, I’m an ass. The thing is, I do want her to visit for three primary reasons:

  1. I want DS to get to know his paternal grandmother.
  2. I want DH to spend time with his mother.
  3. I want DS to grow up knowing that I want his dad to spend time with his mother. (Therefore, he needs to spend time with me in the future. What? You thought this was altruism?)

She is actually a pretty good MIL as MILs go. She pretty much leaves us alone to do whatever we want. She doesn’t press for visits (either us to visit her or her to visit us). She sends gifts and cards and money to DS. She doesn’t call all the time and doesn’t really butt into our lives. She’s very low-key and low-maintenance that way. I am very grateful for that. I would kill myself if my MIL was like my mom. (Possibly because I can only have one crazy-in-the-way-your-own-mom-can-be person in my life.)

However, I find her so tiring. She’s one of the most negative people I have ever met. Everything is terrible. She’s so fat but she loves to eat. She’s so ugly. She is so lucky but she just hates her life. I want to smack her. Having a conversation with her is like talking to a crazy wall. But she’s crazy in a way that I’m not used to.

DH always asks me why I even bother arguing with her. He says, “You don’t expect a crazy person to act normal. Why do you expect her to act like you do? You just have inappropriate expectations. Just nod and say, ‘Oh, that’s interesting.'”

This is why both DH and my brother get along so much better with people. I, on the other hand, am clinically insane for always butting heads with folks. I think they’re wrong? I’ll tell them! I think they’re crazy? I tell them! I think they’re stupid? I make sure they know!

*sigh* Terrible. I’m not proud of myself for my complete immaturity. I try pretty hard to make her enjoy her stay so that she will want to come back again and again. I may not like her much, but I sure want DS to love her and care about her (besides which, DH loves her very much). I am glad it’s just the long weekend. 🙂 Is that bad?

