It was only long after that I recognized sarcasm as the protest of people who are weak.

– John Knowles, A Separate Peace

Wow. Just finished reading A Separate Peace for Book Club and that line struck me the most out of the entire book. As someone who relies on sarcasm almost daily – especially when wielded against DH or my MIL or anyone who I find frustrating, I feel incredibly small right now. It was only after seeing it in print that I realize how true it is.

I am weak and small and cruel and petty. I truly need to work on phrasing things without sarcasm or without the express purpose of making myself out to be brilliant and the other person to be an idiot. (Even if it may indeed be the case. Pointing it out like that is just tacky.)

Right now, though, I just feel shame.

