It’s probably what everyone is blogging about or talking about, but you know what? It’s on my mind. DH and I were watching the tsunami LIVE last night when he got back from the airport. It completely blew my mind. It was like watching a movie, but way less intense. Like, I knew the wave was huge, but from so high up, you couldn’t really tell. Only when you watched it sweep away homes, buildings, debris, cars, EVERYTHING, did you realize, OMG, that thing is HUGE and so fast!

What got me most though, were the cars perhaps a block over either fleeing the water or completely oblivious. And the CNN anchorwoman made NO mention of these people, these PEOPLE, until a person she was interviewing mentioned them. I just couldn’t believe that I was perhaps watching people die. How insane of a world do we live in which we can watch such devastation LIVE?

And then, all I could think of was DS and how if in the event of a major earthquake (which is very likely where we live), would his baby monitor fall down off the wall and kill him? Yes, these are the morbid thoughts in which I dwell upon late at night before falling asleep. I think, are we high enough or far enough inland so that a tsunami wouldn’t hit us? We’re about what, 20 miles from the coast?

I have our emergency disaster kit – I better go get us some water. *sigh*

