I remember when I was little, I used to force my mom into a corner and ask my mom in front of friends if they could come over. That pretty much forced my mom to say “Yes” or look like a complete ass. After ward, I would get in trouble for doing that and she would tell me to always ask her these things in private. That way, she could say “No” without either the friend or her losing face. Clearly, I forgot that lesson!

This weekend, we were supposed to visit some friends and stay for an Easter egg hunt. We really wanted to go, but my friend heard that DS got croup through her husband via Facebook. (How’s that for a convoluted sentence?) Anyhow, she understandably didn’t want DS around her newborn who was recovering from a previous cold and asked us quite politely to come a different weekend. I was bummed, but totally understood.

Well, last night, her husband IM’d me and asked why we weren’t coming. I told him that his wife was worried DS would get her little boy sick. He told me that was ridiculous and that we should still come. I told him to check with his wife and not bully her. I also mentioned that DS was fine (and quite frankly, may have fanned the flames for us to visit since I was feeling at a loss of what to do this weekend). Well, of course, he totally lobbied her and she felt like she was a bad guy – which she totally wasn’t. I felt so ashamed.

I, of course, apologized. After all, I realized that I did exactly what my mom taught me so long ago not to do! I backed my dear friend into a corner and made it seem as if she was paranoid and ridiculous for being rightfully concerned (after all, croup is a nasty thing and very scary) and made her say “No” several times! Talk about embarrassing for all parties involved! I really should’ve just put my foot down and honored her decision. I mean, really. If DH did that to me, I’dve FLIPPED OUT. My friend is much too kind.

I’m sure this will come back to me when DS gets it into his head to manipulate me in the future. He already does an awesome job of it without actually talking (signing, but not talking).

