To make my mother happy, that is. It took a long time to get to this place, but you know what? I really like it. Yeah, it sucks that my mother has been in a super shitty mood for at least the last two days, but here’s the awesome part: that’s not my problem! I mean, I am affected by it since she didn’t bother to call me or come by to see DS today, but honestly, I don’t want to see her if she’s gonna be a pisser. But ultimately, she’s a grown up and if she’s in a bad mood (to which she is entitled) and doesn’t want to get out of it, she is welcome to wallow in it far away from me!

Now, I know that may seem like common sense to some of you, but as a person who grew up trying to please both parents and making sure they weren’t angry or upset (more for my father than my mother, but it was still important), not giving a crap about how my mom feels (in the sense that I’m not trying to cajole her out of her mood) is a revelation! Freeing! Amazing!

When she wants to come back around, she will be more than welcome. Until then, it’s her job to figure her shit out.

