Every morning, if DS wakes up before 6am, we have him cry it out until 6am. It is awful and horrible and so sad and also, hilarious. (His random angry babbling is a thing to hear!) However, we do this because we want to train him to sleep longer (and it works). Many times, he will slam the door and then go back to sleep for a bit. Every time we break down and actually get him before 6am, he starts waking up EVEN EARLIER. Which is UNACCEPTABLE.

However, a consequence of this is that if and when he does NOT go back to sleep and then cries and screams for an hour (he is very stubborn), then all these irrational fears of mine start cropping up. I think, OMG, since DS is behind a baby gate, what if both DH and I die in the night? Does that mean DS will be crying and screaming behind his baby gate ALL DAY until 6pm if/when my mother drops by? What if it’s on a weekend? My mother does not drop by on the weekends!! At least he has water.

But truly, how can I prevent this from happening? Should I always leave our windows open on the off-chance that the neighbors will hear him crying ALL DAY so that they’ll call the police? Should I set up a webcam in his room so that we can always check on him from somewhere? Should I check in with someone every morning so that in the event we do not, they can call and check to see if we’re alive? And if not, to immediately send my mother over?

I AM TOTALLY CRAZY.

But have you seen Dexter? Where he is a baby and sitting in a room painted in blood and he’s crying in there for about three days or whatever? He’s never the same. I mean, he turns into a serial killer for Pete’s sake.

DS CANNOT TURN INTO A SERIAL KILLER ALL BECAUSE I DID NOT COME UP WITH A CONTINGENCY PLAN IN CASE WE BOTH DIE DURING THE NIGHT.

