Each time after my grand-aunt watches DS, I’m always amazed at what she comes up with. Now, keep in mind, she’s never had kids and never watched kids so the fact that she does this for three hours, once a month, as a huge favor to me, is wonderful and really, I should be more grateful. But still, I always have to shake my head at the things that she says.

Here are some highlights:

1) Me: Did you change DS’s diaper?
GA: No.
Me: Why not?
GA: Because he never told me to.

Me: He can’t tell you that.

This is before DS could talk (actually, before he even turned a year old) or tell me he had gone to the bathroom. I was FLOORED. My mom and I had a great laugh about it. (Even though I was annoyed that my kid had been sitting in poop for who knows how long.)

2) GA: I didn’t know how to put on the new diapers so you’ll have to show me how to do it.
Me: What do you mean? The disposable diapers?
GA: Yes, I couldn’t figure out how to put them on.
Me: I don’t understand. What couldn’t you figure out?
GA: Well, I didn’t know where to put the sticky tabs. So you’ll have to show me how next time.
Me: Wait, what? Um, ok.

Am I being too harsh? How else would you keep a disposable diaper on a kid’s butt? Where would you put the tabs? WHERE? Oh, I don’t know… maybe in the FRONT? You know, so the diaper DOESN’T FALL OFF THE BABY? I just… I had no response that was not mean. My mom was equally floored and confused. The sad thing is, my mom says that my grand-aunt used to be much worse.

Ah well. She loves DS and DS loves her and they have a great time once a month (or more often if I have to get a major ultrasound since they don’t let kids in the room).

I have to stop being such a judgmental ass and just be grateful. (But I couldn’t help but note that I had finally found someone with less common sense than DH.)

Assishness unaverted. *sigh*

