DS locked himself in the nursery last night. Since it was the kind of lock that requires a key, he was in there, with a dirty diaper for over 30 minutes. (This is the 2nd time he’s done this, by the way. The first time, he managed to unlock the door – also with a dirty diaper. He likes to run away from the changing table and go into his old room)  Poor boy was screaming and weeping the whole time. It was unawesome.

He banged on the door, tried to claw his way out of the room, and kept trying the door latch. It was very traumatic. I was totally trying not to sob!! I did start crying a little bit, but I didn’t want to freak DS out so I tried to stay as calm as possible. Plus, it’s hard to pick a lock when you’re weeping hysterically. Finally, the last 5 minutes or so, I just stuck my hand under the door and told him to hold my fingers. It was so sad. 😦 Thank God the locksmith came in 20 minutes and charged us $100 for it!! He broke the lock and got DS out.

He’ll be back to switch out all the door handles with locks that require a key tomorrow. I don’t care what it costs. I’m not going through that again!

Of course, my favorite was when the locksmith asked, “Why didn’t you just ask him to unlock the door?”

I looked at him and said, “He’s under two. Don’t you think if I could’ve gotten him to do that for the last 30 minutes YOU WOULDN’T BE HERE RIGHT NOW???”

DS recovered quite quickly though. After all, nothing a lot of ice cream, milk shakes and fries didn’t immediately cure. He had nothing of nutritional value that night for dinner.

The latest adventure in our household this evening: DS got into the pantry and broke a jar of spaghetti sauce. Sauce and glass everywhere – including DS’s sock – and DS got a nasty cut on his big toe. Fun times! At least it forced me to vacuum my kitchen. Unfortunately, I also had to toss the socks because I didn’t know how much glass was embedded in there and I wasn’t going to find out.

Clearly, I need to keep on my toes!

