People often note that ideas and thoughts which seem deep and meaningful inside their head seem banal or pointless when they’re written out, but allow me to suggest the problem is not that that these ideas were reduced when they were translated into words; instead, they were revealed. Your brain lies to you about the awesomeness of your thoughts. Words are the friend that says “Dude. Stop hitting the bong.” On the other hand, if you have a fantastic idea in your head, and it’s still fantastic when you put it into words, you know what? It may in fact be fantastic.

blog post, John Scalzi

How utterly depressing. Because I often find that once I write a thought down, it is truly stupid. If it is only revealing what I really am, than boy, am I stupid (or at best, think stupid thoughts), and stupid OFTEN!

