I am really digging several songs on the radio right now. The most is a Katy Perry song called, “The One that Got Away.” I must say, the first time I heard this song, I remember distinctly feeling so grateful and glad that I didn’t have to look back on my life and say that about DH. In fact, I recall tearing up because then I thought of all the beautiful things in life that I would have missed out on if DH had gotten away from me. (Not the least of which are my two beautiful children.)

How I do love my family. Indeed, I am once again overwhelmed with the incredulity of how lucky I am to live this beautiful life. I would not trade my life for any other – nor would I change one moment of it in order to not risk a minute detail derailing my current life as it is. The thought of not having DH, DS or DD in my life is almost unbearable. It is truly God’s grace that I get to have such a beautiful and lovely family.

See what post-birth hormones do to you? They render you a watering pot just because of a wistful song on the radio.

The other song that I will mention in this post (because it evokes the same feeling of wistfulness and love and besottedness in me) is Christina Perry’s “A Thousand Years,” written for the Breaking Dawn Pt 1 movie. I don’t care at all about Twilight, but I am sure pleased with the songs that the story inspires. 🙂

In particular, I love the lines, “I have loved you for a thousand years/I’ll love you for a thousand more.” Yes, I know it refers to the love between Bella and Edward, and thus, is in reference to romantic love. However, I must admit, that in addition to making me think longingly and lovingly towards DH, I think truly of my two babies.

I just cannot imagine a life without my two precious darlings. They are my heart. Or, to quote the Chinese saying, they are my “heart liver treasure,” which sounds grosser in English than it does in Chinese. I never even understood the meaning of that phrase until I had DS – and then, that phrase crystallized and became one of the deepest truths in my life. DS and DD are my deepest loves.

My heart is feeling particularly full tonight.

