Oops! Forgot to post last night so let me dash one off right now before I forget and go back to sleep. (I’s sweepies.) For your reading pleasure (and my terrible memory), here are some kiddo updates!

1) DS and I have been watching Avatar: The Last Airbender together for the past few months. We are almost done with Book 2. Now that we’re about 40 episodes in, DS LOVES the show and the cartoon characters on it. Since I have one of the show’s art books and a few of their graphic novels, DS has been flipping through them everyday. Everyday, he asks to see Aang, the show’s main character, and we go through the massive art book or the comics.

Now, that art book cost at least $30 and is a coffee table book. At first, I totally freaked out about him possibly ripping pages, etc, but then I thought, “What’s the point of having something that doesn’t get used or loved? Am I going to remember a pristine book or have lovely memories of sharing this joy with my son?” I stopped caring about the book itself and decided I would rather my son enjoy a possession vs. be a slave to it. Besides, a book is made to be enjoyed, not put carefully away on a shelf. That, and I taught DS how to turn the pages a little more gently and he’s been really good about it. Plus, if he ruins it, I can always buy another one. 😀

Almost every day, DS asks to see “Tian Niu,” (a rough Chinese translation for Sky Bison), so we watch one or two episodes on DVD. I forget that because he is so young, he thinks the sky bison and the “bending/martial arts” is real. In the show, there are four nations: Fire, Earth, Water, and Air. People are capable of psychokinetically moving (aka “bending”) one of the elements using martial arts and the animation is beautiful and awesome.

The other day, I was pushing DD in a car and DS was riding his motorcycle. We were blocking DS’s way and all of a sudden, DS made a “Stop in the name of love” motion and said, “Push!” He did this a few times and I realized he was trying to “bend” me out of his way. HAHAHAHA! Awesome.

2) I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this already, but DD is most likely going to walk as early as DS did. DS walked just five days shy of nine months. DD is currently cruising around rather well and is getting better at standing without any assistance on her own. (By that, I mean once she has pulled/pushed herself into a standing position, she will let go and stand for a few seconds before crashing to earth.) One of the cutest sights in the world is when I go into her room to pick her up and she is standing in her crib, peering over side, grinning at me. She is super aggressive and is crawling (mostly backward) and rolling and tripodding around. She cannot be stopped – only contained!

3) DD loves to play. I realize that all babies love to play, but we’re talking about MY baby here, not all babies. 😉 Anyhow, DD just shakes with anticipation when we include her in our games. She waves and flaps her arms and kicks her legs and feet. She shrieks in joy. She goes all in and is so sad if everyone leaves the room (even for a second). DD HATES being left behind.

4) DD also refuses baby food. She only wants foods that require chewing and have flavor! DS preferred sweets. DD prefers savory! Gotta love these little fatties. 😀

5) DS has started to sing little songs to himself. Mostly, they are versions of “Happy Birthday.” He is big on that song because he loves to watch a video of our friend’s kid singing, “Happy Birthday.” Plus, he loves to watch his one year birthday party video where everyone sings that to him and he cackles with glee.

6) DS is starting to count now. It’s hilarious. In English, he will count, “1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7.” In Chinese, he counts, “1, 2, 7, 8, 9.” I love how he skips different numbers in different languages.

7) DS now tells us about his day and it is so cute! I love how his little brain works and what he finds important to share with us. Mostly, he tells us about trains, or what he ate or who he played with. So lovely.

Ok, that’s all I can think of now and I want to catch some sleep. I love my job. 😀

