Lately, my mom has been making these “joking” statements about how she can’t count on my brother and I to support her in her old age. That one of her friend’s kids works on Wall Street and bought her a Mini Cooper and gives her a monthly allowance and how she knows not to expect that from us. Now, once or twice, I can see that as genuinely being a joke. But she has been saying it a few times a week now, and it’s starting to piss me off. Because if she says it that often, that means deep down, she believes it.

Now don’t get me wrong, of course we’ll try to help her or whatever, make sure she’s not eating cat food or whatever, but seriously? My mom has money. She just makes poor choices. And it makes me angry that she chooses to do things that I don’t think are the wisest with her money – and then complain that we aren’t supporting her. Because she can make DIFFERENT choices!

She’s not a profligate spender or whatever, but she is worried about retirement and having enough money to live comfortably. I get that. It’s scary. But you know what? Don’t live in a mansion that requires a good 70k/year just for UPKEEP. Move to a smaller house! (Don’t try to convince me to move in with you and pay rent instead!)

I am leaving a lot of details out, of course. And we would never let her starve, etc. But this sniping has got to STOP.

