There’s this blog that I follow of the wife of someone I went to high school with. I realize that a lot of people only put up the most awesome aspects of their lives on their blogs – but WOW. Nothing seems more white bread, privileged, and “American” than her blogs. I follow because I do love to see her beautiful kids, plus, she has awesome ideas for crafts, etc. But I must admit, I find her lifestyle aspirational. Because I know how much a lot of these things cost – and seriously, these people are loaded.

Now, before I continue, I completely admit that my family is very rich. I am pretty sure we are part of the 5% if not the 1% of this country. Getting close to the 1% anyway. And yes, my life is not perfect and there are things that we cannot afford (but I would venture to say that MOST of those things we cannot afford are luxuries and not vital to our health or well-being).

Anyhow. What was I saying? Yes. This family’s life makes me covetous. Not always and not usually at the forefront of my mind. But every now and then, there’s a niggling feeling that the life that I’m observing is like a unicorn. Rare and mythical.

I don’t really know what I’m trying to get at. It’s just a feeling I get, that somehow, this life of theirs is not real. (And insofar as that the blog is not a true representation of their daily life, then YES. It is NOT real.)

